excuses, excuses

imgres-2

Apple store, Paris-style.

“Coffee and laptops really sound like they should go together, don’t they? Unfortunately, they really don’t,” sympathized my dad over the phone as I paced back and forth outside the Apple technician’s office in Paris.

I’m full of excuses as to why my blog seemed to come to an abrupt halt. Paris started getting warmer, I started getting lazier, school was ramping up, and there were more and more can’t-miss picnics on the banks of the Seine. The most legitimate reason I can offer you was the simple lack of a computer.

 

imgres-3

are you kidding me?

opera_gallery_image5

can I break my laptop every day?

Midway through writing my art history final dissertation, I knocked my cup of half green tea, half coffee (the first mistake) all over my keyboard. I tried everything. Two pounds of rice, three Apple store visits and one sketchy meeting with a technician in a café later, I was standing outside another technician’s office, forced to give up. The computer turned on all right, despite a strange wheezing noise, but upon opening a Word document, I found that I could pretty much only type in Windings, no matter which key I pressed. So any attempted blog post would contain only stars, circles, and random symbols that were vaguely reminiscent of my World Religions textbook from 9th grade.   

Favorite new (an unfortunately necessary) word: renverser – to spill.

Example: Je suis une grande idiote et j’ai renversé mon café sur le clavier, par hasard –  I am a huge idiot and  accidentally spilled my coffee on the keyboard. 

You can thank me later for that one.

Standard

One thought on “excuses, excuses

  1. Macie says:

    wanna know something funny? I spilled coffee on my keyboard while I was in Spain. we’re gonna make great roommates 😁

Leave a comment